Skip to main navigation.
Any office, any time: 1-888-546-4243

Blue Grass Energy has successful Annual Meeting

On Thursday, June 6, Blue Grass Energy welcomed a crowd of over 600 members and their families to the cooperative’s annual meeting, held at the Keeneland Entertainment Barn in Lexington, Kentucky.

The crowd of nearly 1,500 was treated to a meeting geared towards families—with several children’s activities, which varied from bounce houses to video games.

Entertainment included Bingo for everyone—with members winning over $1,000 in prizes. A meal of BBQ and hot dogs with all the trimmings was provided to all in attendance prior to the business meeting.

Multiple exhibits were on hand. They represented wide-ranging topics from Cooperative Solar to information on Kentucky State Parks.

Just before the business meeting began, John Chamberland of Faith Baptist Church in Cynthiana gave the invocation, and the group 4Ways from Lawrenceburg performed the National Anthem following the presentation of colors by the Frankfort Composite Squadron of the Kentucky Wing Civil Air Patrol.

During the business meeting, Dennis Moneyhon, chairman of Blue Grass Energy’s board of directors, spoke to the crowd. He reminded members that not only is Blue Grass Energy is a service-driven cooperative but a cost-conscious one too.

“One of the many benefits of being a Blue Grass Energy member is that we are service-driven, not profit-driven. As a board, we want all members to receive the quality service they expect and deserve. We do this while being good stewards of the money you are investing in your co-op. This has allowed us another year of no rate increases.”

Director and board secretary-treasurer, Jane Smith, presented the treasurer’s report then entertained and accepted a motion to dispense with the reading of the 2018 minutes.

Cooperative attorney, David Royse performed the installation of the re-elected directors. They were:

  • Richard Cobb – District 2
  • Jody Hughes – District 6

President and CEO Mike Williams also addressed the membership. Williams gave a report that focused on looking at the future of the cooperative.

“While we are focused on future goals, we keep you at the center of our decisions and plans. As we continue to move forward, you can rest assured we will remain local while keeping our focus on powering your life with affordable, around-the-clock energy and providing you with the outstanding service you deserve.”

He was followed by Chris Perry, President and CEO of the Kentucky Association of Electric Cooperatives. 

Blue Grass Energy also awarded $15,000 in scholarships at the event. Following the business meeting, 10 high school graduates, served by Blue Grass Energy, were selected during a random draw. They each received a $1,500 scholarship from the co-op.

The 2019 scholarship winners are:

  • Marcus Alzner - Lexington
  • Abigail Ambrose - Berea
  • Lauren Chadwell - Berea
  • Leah Hatton - Nicholasville
  • Michaelina D. Livolsi - Nicholasville
  • Parker Ridings - Frankfort
  • Christen Smith - Cynthiana
  • Hunter Sparks - Cynthiana
  • Madeline Sparks - Cynthiana
  • Travis Sparks - Cynthiana

Seven additional students were also recognized for being selected to attend the cooperative’s Washington Youth Tour.

The 2019 Washington Youth Tour recipients are:

  • Fielden Bechanan
  • Alyssa Crum
  • Hallie Harrison
  • Reagan Long
  • Regan Moore
  • Anna Ortiz
  • Abby Rogers

The cooperative also had the sixth-annual silent auction benefiting their 2019 charity, Kentucky Wounded Heroes. There were 50 items that raised nearly $2,500.

At the conclusion of the meeting, names were drawn for a variety of prizes for all ages.

If you need help using our Website or have any questions,

contact us byemailor calling 888-546-4243.


Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo